Civil Services (Preliminary) Examination, 2019


The number of vacancies to be filled on the result of the examination is expected to be approximately 896

Preliminary Examination of the Civil Services Examination for recruitment to the Services and Posts mentioned below will be held by the Union Public Service Commission on 2nd June, 2019 in accordance with the Rules published by the Department of Personnel & Training in the Gazette of India Extraordinary dated 19th February, 2019.

(i) Indian Administrative Service.

(ii) Indian Foreign Service.

(iii) Indian Police Service.

(iv) Indian P & T Accounts & Finance Service, Group ‘A’.

(v) Indian Audit and Accounts Service, Group ‘A’.

(vi) Indian Revenue Service (Customs and Central Excise),Group ‘A’.

(vii) Indian Defence Accounts Service, Group ‘A’.

(viii) Indian Revenue Service (I.T.),Group ‘A’.

(ix) Indian Ordnance Factories Service, Group ‘A’ (Assistant Works Manager, Administration).

(x) Indian Postal Service, Group ‘A’.

 (xi) Indian Civil Accounts Service, Group ‘A’.

(xii) Indian Railway Traffic Service, Group ‘A’.

(xiii) Indian Railway Accounts Service, Group ‘A’.

(xiv) Indian Railway Personnel Service, Group ‘A’.

(xv) Post of Assistant Security Commissioner in Railway Protection Force, Group ‘A’

(xvi) Indian Defence Estates Service, Group ‘A’.

(xvii) Indian Information Service (Junior Grade),Group ‘A’.

(xviii) Indian Trade Service, Group ‘A’.

(xix) Indian Corporate Law Service, Group ‘A’.

(xx) Armed Forces Headquarters Civil Service, Group ‘B’ (Section Officer’s Grade).

(xxi) Delhi, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Civil Service, Group ‘B’.

(xxii) Delhi, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Police Service, Group ‘B’.

(xxiii) Pondicherry Civil Service, Group ‘B’.

(xxiv) Pondicherry Police Service, Group ‘B’

Qualification : 
The candidate must hold a degree of any of Universities incorporated by an Act of the Central or State Legislature in India or other educational institutions established by an Act of Parliament or declared to be deemed as a University Under Section-3 of the University Grants Commission Act, 1956, or possess an equivalent qualification.

Age Limits: 
A candidate must have attained the age of 21 years and must not have attained the age of 32 years on the 1st of August, 2019 i.e., he must have been born not earlier than 2nd August, 1987 and not later than 1st August, 1998.

Plan of Examination : 
The Civil Services Examination will consist of two successive stages

(i) Civil Services (Preliminary) Examination (Objective type) for the selection of candidates for the Main Examination; and

(ii) Civil Services (Main) Examination (Written and Interview) for the selection of candidates for the various Services and posts

Candidates (excepting Female/SC/ST/Persons with Benchmark Disability Candidates who are exempted from payment of fee) are required to pay fee of Rs. 100/- (Rupees One Hundred only) either by remitting the money in any Branch of State Bank of India or by using Visa/Master/RuPay
Credit/Debit Card or by using Internet Banking of SBI. Applicants who opt for “Pay by Cash” mode should print the system generated Pay-in-slip during part II registration and deposit the fee at the counter of SBI Branch on the next working day only. “Pay by Cash” mode will be deactivated at
11.59 P.M. of 17.03.2019 i.e. one day before the closing date; however applicants who have generated their Pay-in- Slip before it is deactivated may pay at the counter of SBI Branch during banking hours on the closing date. Such applicants who are unable to pay by cash on the closing
date i.e. during banking hours at SBI Branch, for reasons whatsoever, even if holding valid pay-in-slip will have no other offline option but to opt for available online Debit/Credit Card or Internet Banking payment mode on the closing date i.e. till 18:00 Hours of 18.03.2019.

Centres of Civil Services (Preliminary) Examination:

Agartala, Gorakhpur, Panaji (Goa),Agra, Gurgaon, Patna, Ajmer, Gwalior, Port Blair, Ahmedabad, Hyderabad, Prayagraj, (Allahabad),  Aizawl, Imphal, Puducherry, Aligarh, Indore, Pune, Anantpur (Andhra Pradesh),Itanagar, Raipur, Aurangabad, Jabalpur, Rajkot, Bangalore, Jaipur, Ranchi ,Bareilly, Jammu, Sambalpur, Bhopal, Jodhpur, Shillong, Bilaspur, Jorhat, Shimla, Chandigarh, Kochi, Siligudi, Chennai, Kohima, Srinagar, Coimbatore, Kolkata, Thane, Cuttack, Kozhikode, (Calicut),Thiruvananthapuram, Dehradun, Lucknow, Tiruchirapalli, ,Delhi, Ludhiana, Tirupati, Dharwad, Madurai, Udaipur, Dispur, Mumbai, Varanasi, Faridabad, Mysore, Vellore, Gangtok, Nagpur, Vijayavada, Gaya, Navi Mumbai, Vishakhapatnam, Ghaziabad, Gautam Buddh Nagar, Warangal

Centres of Civil Services (Main) Examination:

Ahmedabad, Delhi, Patna, Aizawl, Dispur (Guwahati),Prayagraj, (Allahabad) Bangaluru, Hyderabad, Raipur, Bhopal, Jaipur, Ranchi, Chandigarh, Jammu, Shillong, Chennai, Kolkata, Shimla, Cuttack, Lucknow, Thiruvananthapuram, Dehradun, Mumbai ,Vijayawada

The online Applications can be filled up to 18th March, 2019 till 6:00 PM. The eligible candidates shall be issued an e-Admit Card three weeks before the commencement of the examination.

Last date :
18th March 2019


Apply online

Official website

Please wait...

Subscribe to

Want to be notified when our article is published? Enter your email address and name below to be the first to know. (Hna thar awm apianga hriattir nih i duh em? I duh chuan i email address leh hming a hnuaia form ah type lut rawh le.)